Dr Natteri V. Chandran

Dr Natteri V Chandran is a Melbourne-based psychotherapist, hypnotherapist, and educator at the University of Melbourne. His work in these areas as well as his contributions to the charitable and community service sectors have been recognized in international publications like Who's Who in Medicine and Who's Who in the World.

Born in 1946 in Madras, India, he studied medicine as a national merit scholar at JIPMER in Pondicherry. In 1971, Dr Chandran left for Australia to study and work. In 1992, acting on his desire to give back something to the community that raised him, Dr Chandran founded The East West Foundation of India (TEWFI), a charitable and educational organization committed to helping those in need in India. He also set up The East West Centre (TEWC), dedicated to helping the mentally unwell among the poor and disadvantaged in Australia, and The East West Overseas Aid Foundation (TEWOAF) in Australia.

Dr Chandran was awarded the American Biographical Institutes’s Man of the Year Commemorative Medal honouring community service and professional achievement in 1995, and the Prime Minister of Australia’s certificate of recognition for extraordinary contribution to the community and Australia in 2001. He was recognised in India with the ‘Hind Rattan’ national award in New Delhi in 2004 for his dedicated service to the community.

Profile (PDF File)


Professor Graham D Burrows AO, MD, K.C.S.J., DSc.

Graham D Burrows is Professor of Psychiatry at the University of Melbourne, and Chairman of the Division of Psychological Medicine. He is also the Director of the Mental Health Clinical Service Unit at the Austin & Repatriation Medical Centre.

He is an Officer in the Order of Australia, in recognition of his significant contribution to Medicine in the area of Psychiatry. Prof. Burrows has written or edited more than 90 books and is on the editorial board of 30 International and Australian Journals.

He has held a number of professional positions at: the University of Melbourne, Austin Hospital, Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Psychiatrists, Australian National Association for Mental Health, Mental Health Foundation of Australia, International Society of Hypnosis, International Society for the Investigation of Stress, Australian Society of Hypnosis, World Federation for Mental Health and Australian Society of Psychiatric Research.
CV (Word file / 40KB)


Dr T J Rao is an eminent surgeon and the Honorary Consul General for India in Melbourne. He has long served the interests of the Australian Indian community, including helping to found the Federation of Indian Associations of Victoria, a peak advocacy group which united 23 different bodies.

This commitment was recognised when he was awarded the Medal of the Order of Australia for service to the Indian Community through the Federation of Indian Associations of Victoria. Dr T J Rao is a member of the Australian Association of Surgeons and Life Member of Association of Surgeons of India.
CV (Word file / 36KB)

Justice Ron Merkel QC, LLB

Ron Merkel was appointed a Judge to the Federal Court of Australia in 1996, where he served for ten years. As a barrister, he is now focusing on public interest and indigenous matters. He is Patron of the Koorie Heritage Trust, the Australian Indonesian Legal Foundation and the Anna Wearne Trust.

In his previous roles, he acted as part time Commissioner of the Commonwealth Human Rights and Equal Opportunity Commission, and Chairman of the Victorian Bar Equality before the Law Committee. During the early 1990s, he was President of the Council for Civil Liberties in both Victoria and Australia, and also helped to found the Victorian Immigration Advice and Rights Centre.
CV (Word file / 36KB)

Mr. Peter Gunn

Peter Gunn is a successful entrepreneur, specialising in logistics. He is currently Managing Director of the PGA Group and is involved on the Board of many philanthropic organisations.

He holds a number of professional positions including: Fellow of the Australian Institute of Management, Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Transport, Trustee of the Australian Road Transport Forum and Trustee of the Committee for Economic Development of Australia.


Management Committee


Dr Beth Z.Charles (President)

Mrs Denise Hutchins (Vice President)

Ms Kerrie Carstensen (Secretary)

Mrs Lea Romanella(Treasurer)

Dr Natteri V Chandran

Mr Neil Williams


Staff & Communication Committee

Thamby Raj Naidu (Chair)


Gujji Muthuswamy

Srini Srinivasan


Fundraising Committee

Srini Srinivasan (Chair)

Judy Nutbean

Lisa Boyd

Beth Charles

Dinner Dance Sub-Committee

Denise Hutchins (Chair)

Chitra Chandran



Day Sponsorship Program

Annemaree Rowley


Family Fellowship Program

Beth Z. Charles


Pro Bono Professionals

Accountant                            HMH Chartered Accountants
Lawyers                                 Arnold Bloch Leibler

Photography                           Jaime Murcia
Annual Report                        Kerrie Carstensen



Office Co-ordinator                        Mrudula Gridhar 


email usEmail   |  sitemapSite Map © 2005 The East West Overseas Aid Foundation